What to do with my English degree?

That is the question and I am far from an answer.

I know that I want to work with books. In what capacity, I have no idea. I am a writer, working on my third book, so therefore I would love to just be a famous author and call it a day. I’ve sent out bundles of queries with enough rejection to fill a small vehicle (perhaps enough tears to fill a small kiddie pool). I simply don’t know where to begin.

I had an internship with a literary agency this past summer and I wasn’t thrilled with the work I did there. I also wasn’t thrilled about the people I worked with, but it was an experience nonetheless.

I enjoy the idea of working with manuscripts, reading submissions and deciding which ones are good and which ones need work or a trashcan. I also wouldn’t be opposed to being an editor, but I feel that I lack some the grammar and punctuation skills that are heavily required for that field. Graduation is looming overhead and I can’t but feel that sinking feeling as if everything is ending, but nothing is beginning. I have no prospects and only a hazy idea of what I would like to do.

Any advice from my book loving followers or people who come across this post would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

