Book Review: Rumor Has It by Jill Mansell

51wv-MTbz3L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Rumor Has It by Jill Mansell

Release Date: January 1st, 2009
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Pages: 410
Price: $14.99

“Maybe when she’d been eighteen it was a quality she might have laughed at, but at twenty-eight, dependability had turned into something of an aphrodisiac.”

Tilly Cole always keeps men at an arm’s length. If she stops feeling anything towards them, she becomes distant to the point where the men are forced to break up with her so she doesn’t have to leave them. When a newly single Tilly sees an ad for a “Girl Friday” she jumps at the chance. Leaving her flat in London for a fun job in a small town with a chance for a fresh start in a cute country house, Tilly begins to see the possibilities of a life she didn’t think she could have. But her new fun world changes when she becomes the topic of gossip, jealousy, and intrigue all surrounding the local bachelor-Jack Lucas.

Jack Lucas has a reputation as the love ‘em and leave ‘em type. His escapades are legendary and every single woman in town lusts for him and every woman wants her chance to be with Jack. Tilly is not immune to his charm, but decides to do the mature thing and keep her distance from him, lest she wind up like all the other woman who have spent a night in his bed. Despite her attempts to remain away from Jack, her work and home life force interaction and eventually a slight friendship between the two leading Tilly to believe that not all the rumors she’s heard about him are true. With little to go on, Tilly has to decide what she believes is rumor and what is fact—because Jack doesn’t sleep and tell.

I’m going to start off with my mantra, if you can’t get into a book it’s not the right time to read it. I’ve had this book for a few years now, but I could never get into it. This time, it stuck. The writing was witty and hilarious and the characters were fun and charming. I felt like I could easily slip into their world and immerse myself in a culture that I’ve never experienced first-hand. Everything about the story was quaint and charming, but also real. I love the chaos that ensues before things even out, because that’s how life can be. I’m still partial to my happy endings because they make me, as a reader, feel better about the world around me and I think that’s really important. I’m currently looking for more Mansell books to add to my to-be-read pile.

Leave a Reply

