Book Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

10212034Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Release Date: February 10th 2015
Publisher: Orion
Pages: 383
Price: $17.99

“Anyone can betray anyone.”

In a world divided by blood, Silvers rule all while Reds are slaves.

The Reds are commoners, nothing more than slaves and servants to the elite Silvers who possess god-like abilities. To seventeen-year-old Mare Barrow, a Red girl from the poverty streaked Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

Until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace, surrounded by the people who have enslaved and imprisoned Reds for generations. It is here, among her most hated enemies that Mare discovers she might have something in common with them after all, a deadly power all her own. A power that is both unruly and unknown in its origin may threaten the very balance of her world.

Afraid of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her among their own, declaring her a long lost Silver princess who they betroth to a Silver prince. Knowing any step could mean her death, Mare risks everything to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group in order to bring down the Silver regime once and for all.

In a world full of lies and betrayals, Mare must learn whom to trust. Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against herself.

This was a fantastic book. The story was so original and unique. It really gave me pause and left me questioning things and people throughout the story. I had my own theories about certain characters and their origins and I was right about some things and wrong about others. I guessed a big plot point towards the end, because as I writer I thought it would be the most interesting outcome and I was right, unfortunately. I didn’t want to be right. Sometimes books are why I have trust issues. The world Aveyard created was really vivid and the difference in social class was all too real.

There were a few plot twists that I didn’t see coming, which was nice because the element of surprise really changes things. I was a bit annoyed with the seeming love triangle happening, but that was fixed by the end of the novel so I’m not upset about that. Just glad that it was taken care of. Looking forward to the second installment of the series.

Rating: 4 stars

Leave a Reply

