Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A77113_original Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Release Date: May 5th, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Pages: 416
Price: $9.49

There are those who seek me a lifetime but never we meet,

And those I kiss but who trample me beneath ungrateful feet.

At times I seem to favor the clever and the fair,
But I bless all those who are brave enough to dare.

By large, my ministrations are soft-handed and sweet,
But scorned, I become a difficult beast to defeat.

For though each of my strikes lands a powerful blow,
When I kill, I do it slow…”

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

I had to pace myself before reading this book because I was very excited about it. When I first started, I wasn’t sure how I felt about it. Mind you, I didn’t get very far in, but once I got into it things really picked up quickly. Feyre is a great character and I really enjoyed going through the story with her.

Tamlin is another level of seduction that I have never known before this book. He’s sweet and mysterious (which something about that combination brings me to my knees) and there were a few times where I thought to myself, can you please calm down my parents are in the next room. He’s definitely on the list of fictional husbands.

With my lust aside, their story was so intricately weaved between folklore and Beauty and the Beast. It worked really well for the story and it was a unique reconstruction of a story that many of us grew up with (although this one had more adult points).

With the good points aside, there were inconsistencies. There were some points that didn’t really add anything to the story and didn’t seem to fit into what was happening. More or less it was a way to introduce a new character while also bumping up the sexual tension to an unhealthy level for readers. I also heard that there is going to be a love triangle in the next book and I’m not pleased. I loathe love triangles, especially when I like one couple better than the other. It just complicates things in an unnecessary way.

I guess we will just have to wait and see.

Rating: 4 Stars

Leave a Reply

